Clontibret (@1.61) vs Carrickmacross (@2.62)

Our Prediction:

Clontibret will win

Clontibret – Carrickmacross Match Prediction | 24-08-2019

The clash of Clontibrets right half-back Jim Woods and Ballybays Francis Noel Duffy was one of the highlights in this final, while Pat Clarkes goal was the clincher. A new Clontibret name, that of Benny Mone, had now hit the headlines. In the 1956 Championship final, corner forward Sean Duffy scored the winning goal with only four minutes to go. 1955 was another great year for the ONeills, winning not only the Senior Championship but also the Owen Ward Cup. Sean and Brendan Woods were now very much part of the new Clontibret outfit. In 1957 it took two memorable meetings between Clontibret and Ballybay before the latter relieved Clontibret of the title but the following year Clontibret defeated Donaghmoyne by 0-7 to 0-4 in a tough, hard hitting final. His move to mid-field during this game was an inspired one. Clontibret had already beaten Threemilehouse and Monaghan in the 1958 campaign. Still holding his place on the team was the third Woods brother, Jim, a veteran of the 1949 team. The final score was Clontibret 3-8 Ballybay 3-6 and the ONeills had won their sixth senior final. They could have won much more comfortably but for faulty finishing.

1998 was a year of mixed fortunes for the ONeills. They denied Blayney a double, however, by beating them in the league final (2-3 to 0-6) in Ballybay. All all-round good team performance coupled with a real hunger to seek revenge for the Championship Final defeat, meant the ONeills retained the Owen Ward Cup. The senior team lost by a three point margin to Blayney in the championship final in Clones.

It was Clontibret who made the early running with the first two points of the game; which were cancelled out by Peter OHanlon; these were the only two scores registered by the Emmets i... After defeats to Latton and Ballybay respectively the Emmets senior team headed for Clontibret for Round 12 of the Senior League: It is becoming tighter at the top of the league table with six teams in a position for the top four standings and nothing could be taken for granted. Senior League!

Founder members of the Hugh ONeills club in Clontibret ( or St Marys as it was then commonly known) were Ned Smyth (father of the great Joe of later years and Eamon) who became team captain and first club secretary, Joe McNally, Barney Smyth, John Andy Brennan, Owen Klondike Sherry, Owen Cooper Leonard,Tullybuck, Fra Moen,,Corcaskea, Richard Brennan, Tonagh, Charles McElreavy, Mullyard, John McAdam Lemgar, Peter Woods, Annagh,, Michael Fly Hughes, Patrick McArdle Corlealackagh, Francis Eoin Carragher, Moneyvolen, Patrick Connolly, Lackagh, Peter Forde Ballynagarry, Harry Macklin, Crosshue, Peter King, Lisaginny, Patrick Hughes, Carrickaderry, John McNally Moys, Pat McCormack NT Moys, Tom OConnor ,Moys, Jimmy Hanratty, John Henry Fitzsimmons,Robert Winters, Ardaghey, Tommy Loughran.

Businesses Carrickmacross Emmets

Emmets 1-08 Eire Og 2-08: There was not a lot of scoring left but plenty of excitement as the game produced a hectic run-in and Jack McGeown pointed a vital point for the Emmets who had a penalty saved but retrieved a point from the rebound. Two additional Eire Og points which were their last; put them three ahead entering the third quarter. Donnach opened the scoring of the second half with a point from a free-kick which went high over the bar despite a tricky wind; Eire Og also pointed a free-kick. Two more Eire Og points gave them momentum but Mark Downey pulled one back to leave the minimum.

In Round 3, the four teams are drawn in two matches, with the two winners progressing to the Semi-Final stage. At this stage, again, the four teams are drawn in two matches with the two winners progressing to Round 3, where they face the losers of the Round 2A games. The two winners of the Round 1B games progress to Round 2B, and joining them in Round 2B is the loser of the Round 1A clash involving the Preliminary Round winners. As five teams are eligible for Round 1B, one team receives a bye to Round 2B, with the remaining four teams drawn in two matches. The losers enter the 'back-door' route, with the two Preliminary Round losers, and three of the four Round 1A losers entering Round 1B.

Monaghan County Council has appointed Jacobs Consulting Engineers to advance both projects through the planning and design process. Subject to funding, the design process will be developed in stages, with opportunities for the public to participate in the decision-making at each stage. Full information on the scheme, including latest news and details of public consultation periods and events, can be found on the project website

Next week the Jackpot stands at 8,300 as there was no winner on Monday night: Now is the chance to win a big prize and at the same time help the club in their everyday expenditure and costs! Emmets Club Lotto! Support is everything! 03-16-17-26: Lotto envelopes are available Birdys, ORourkes, McMenamins and Nallos or you can do it on-line via Emmets website! Sheamus Mulholland and Ciaran McMahon got a 20 voucher each while t...he 10 voucher was won by Gary McEneaney. Winners: David ORourke got the 50 voucher.

medal by the Offaly All-Ireland star, Kieran Claffey. In 1971, ONeills again met Castleblayney in the Senior Championship Final but again Blayney took the honours. Hackett Cup. In 1962 and 1963 Clontibret won the Fr. Also in 1968, the Senior Championship title returned to Clontibret although it looked as if it would be Scotstowns title but poor finishing was their ultimate downfall. In 1967 came one of the greatest County Finals ever played, Castleblayney again defeating Clontibret by 2-9 to 1-10. At half-time Blayney led by 1-6 to 0-3. In the meantime, Ballybay defeated them in a replay in 1959. A feature of this game was the winning of a Monaghan S.F.C. Monaghan Harps surprisingly eliminated Clontibret in the first round of the 1969 Championship. Clontibret had to wait ten years before the Championship returned to its old familiar surroundings for the eighth occasion. In 1965 Castleblayney beat Clontibret by 1-5 to 0-3. Clontibret were again to the fore in 1968 and showed great promise when their Junior team defeated hot favourites Inniskeen to win the Brennan Cup for the first time. Trailing by four points from the fifth minute of the first half, a brilliant goal by Sean Woods, who had been given a perfect pass by Joe Smyth early in the second half transformed the game. Clontibret again reached the final with Blayney in 1970, Blayney winning by 1-10 to 0-9. Nearly every Ulster Railway Cup team for the twenty year period from the late forties to the late sixties included a Clontibret player:- John Rice, Hughie McKearney, Francie McQuaid, Benny Mone and Sean Woods an almost unique contribution from any club, surely! A great second half recovery by Clontibret redeemed the game but it never lived up to the 1967 standards. During the sixties, Scotstown won both the 1960 and 1961 Championships and Ballybay won in 1962.