Souths Logan Magpies (@2.5) vs Tweed Heads (@1.57)

Our Prediction:

Tweed Heads will win

Souths Logan Magpies – Tweed Heads Match Prediction | 22-08-2019

The West End Club played their last season in the Senior Grade in 1920. Playing in an all black strip, the club won the 1913 premiership against Natives 5-3 in a low scoring game, and were runners-up to Valleys the following year, going down by 188. The first rugby league club to represent the southern side of the Brisbane River was West End, who entered the Queensland Rugby League premiership in 1910.

Min odds 2.00. Only first bet qualifies towards offer. Free bets expire after 7 days. Min qualifying bet 10 or more in ONE bet transaction. Free Spins available on specific slots. Free spins expire after 7 days. New customers only. Free bet must be placed on Sportsbook. 18+. Free bet stake not included in any winnings. Free bet credited within 48 hours. UK only.

In 2004 all games were moved to Davies Park. Following the take-over of Logan Scorpions in 2003 the club split its home games between Davies Park and Logan's Meakin Park in Slacks Creek, although they had moved full-time to Davies Park by the end of the year. In 2006 all games were played at Brandon Park. In late 2005 the Magpies began moving matches to Brandon Park in Acacia Ridge, just opposite the Archerfield Airport, to be nearer Souths Juniors. 2007 saw 6 of the 10 games back at Davies Park, with the remaining 4 at Brandon Park. Traditionally, the Magpies home ground is Davies Park, although they did spend a time at Musgrave Park during World War II.

odds of 2/5 per selection to qualify; Max. odds of 4/5 on singles or acca bets with min. New Customers only; Min. stake contribution to wagering requirement is the value of your bonus; Certain bet types are excluded. deposit 15 (no Skrill/Neteller); Use bonus code SCORE10; Bonus amount is 100% of deposit up to 50; Offer can be claimed once per household; Wager the qualifying deposit and bonus amount 5x within 30 days to convert bonus winnings into real money; Wagers must be on min.

Bet 10 Get 30

Get 10 free bet (5 online, 5 shop/Connect), must stake in full at odds of 1/2 or more on sports. Opt-in required. Applies to 1+ bets totaling 25+ at odds of EVS or more settled before 23:59 GMT on Thurs of offer week. 18+. Free bet valid until 23:59 GMT on Sunday of offer week. No Cash-Out bets. UK+IRE only. Time limits may apply.

The Carlton Club was also promoted to the Senior Grade of the QRL Competition. When the QRU Senior Grade competitions recommenced in 1919 the vast majority of the members of both the Merthyr and Carlton Clubs returned to play with the Brothers Club; however, a number of members decided to stay with the League Game and the name and colours of the Carlton Football remained with the QRL.

Up to 100 in Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. New Customers only. Sign up, deposit 5 or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake.

Souths adopted the old West End jersey, and after the war chose to keep the design, and added a white V. Although they had an acute shortage of players, they continued to field teams, playing and training out of Musgrave Park in South Brisbane. During World War II, a lack of dyes for clothing forced the club to change jerseys, a problem that faced many clubs throughout Australia. (Southern Suburbs were known as the Lions up to the late-fifties, it was in the early sixties that they took on the Magpie logo) The war also saw them leave their spiritual home of Davies Park, which was first used in 1910, as it was used as housing for American servicemen in the city.

The Souths Logan Magpies, more commonly referred to by their former names Southern Suburbs Magpies, or South Brisbane Magpies, or often simply referred to as Souths, are a rugby league football club based in the southern suburbs of Brisbane, Australia. They play in the Intrust Super Cup, and although officially are a newer club (having been formed in 2003), they have roots tracing back (as Souths Magpies) to as early as 1910, the second year of rugby league in Queensland.

Upcoming Game

The club was founded by members of the Brothers Old Boys Junior Division (modern day Reserve Graders) along the same lines of the Merthyr Football Club Senior Division (modern day "A" Graders) in 1917. The members wanted to stay together and play football and since the QRU had abandoned Senior Football, they saw this as their only option. The Carlton Football Club was founded in 1918 as a Junior Grade (Reserve Grade) Club to compete in the QRL competition.

Souths inherited a debt of 90 pounds, and also suffered an exodus of players, resulting in doubts over their ability to field a first-grade team. Following the introduction of District Football in 1933 by the Brisbane Rugby League, Carltons were forced to relinquish their identity and as a result became known as Southern Suburbs. However, newly elected President Jack Adams started the club with regular meetings under his West End clothing factory, which also made the club's first jerseys free of charge.

Souths made their first grand final in 1942, however went down to Brothers 20-11. As a tribute, the Bill Tyquin Oval at Davies Park was named after him. Bill Tyquin, a product of Souths district, was captain-coach of the 1949 team, and went on to become an outstanding administrator and President of the club, as well as a delegate to the Brisbane Rugby League. In 1945 they broke their premiership drought in most emphatic fashion, becoming the first club to clean-sweep the BRL in first, reserve and third grades. This was followed with more premierships in 1949, 1951 and 1953. They also won two junior premierships in that same year.

Other Souths players to represent Australia were:H. Players who have worn the jerseys of South Brisbane 1908 to 1913, West End 1913 to 1926, Carlton 1926 to 1933, Souths 1933 onwards and represented their state totalled 80 of whom 33 Represented Australia. The first player was Herb Brackenreg in 1909 to represent Australia. Fewin 1920, Vic Anderson, 1909 John Grant, Jim Murphy, Wayne Bennett, Ray Higgs, Brad Tessmann, John Grice, Robert Nicholson 1909, Len Pegg, Alan Hornery, Frank Drake, Alan Gil, Reg Kay, Alan Thompson, Henry Holloway, Claude O'Donnell, Greg Veivers (Captain), (Greg's Father Jack represented Queensland), Mick Veivers, Neville Broadfoot, Dave Brown, Bill Tyquin (Captain), Tom Tyquin, Peter Jackson, Harold 'Mick' Crocker, Elton Rasmussen, Lew Platz, Gary Belcher, Jason Smith, Bob Lindner, Mal Meninga (Captain) William (Bill) Heidke 1908/9 Kangaroo tour.

Place five or more In-Play bets of at least 10 on Football, Cricket, Tennis, Darts and Basketball with minimum odds of Evens (2.00) between Monday and Sunday and get a 10 free bet. The five or more In-Play bets must be settled between 00:01 Monday and 23:59 Sunday of each week to be eligible. Offer applies to customers located in UK only. Players must opt-in to be eligible for this promotion.